The Good Kind of Anchor

As we get on with our lives and routines, it’s scary just how fast time flies. I’ve always intended to blog, but here we are now, and months have passed. Just like I’ve always intended to exercise “next Sunday”, but that’s another story.

Life is good and quiet in our household. We work in the day, and have our dinner in front of the TV in the evening. I try to cook at least 2 to 3 times a week, and we’ll have our Japanese takeout every week. We are such couch potatoes. Our dating days consisted of having dinner in front of the TV in my old place (which I now refer to it as my mum’s place). Sometimes we could catch 2 or even 3 movies back-to-back on HBO, Star Movies, or some other channel. Oh, the comforts of cable.

So anyway, we’ve just wrapped up two great shows – the latest season of “So You Think You Can Dance” and “Blue Bloods”. I’m actually a recent convert to SYTYCD, having watched only Season 9 and 10. It’s quite an eye-opener to see how much talent there is out there, and it’s humbling too. “Blue Bloods” is my kind of show. Honestly, it’s refreshing to have a show where the main characters are straight-up good guys, which appeals to the goody-two-shoes in me. Another reason why I like it so much, is because of the clear portrayal of a close-knit, non-dysfunctional (i.e., functional) family. The good kind of anchor.

Why do we place so much importance on our identities, our relationships, our work, and the things we do? It’s possible that we’re searching for that good kind of anchor in our lives. Until then, we’re only to drift around aimlessly, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, just not meant to be a long-term thing. And we may have been doing all this without knowing giving a name to it, until we’re made aware.

The good kind of anchor. The name came to me when I saw a fictitious family on a television screen. I was envious of what I saw. And then I looked beside me and saw that there was nothing to envy after all. I found my anchor, sitting next to me every night, watching TV in our quiet little home.

Leave a Reply

