Lunch at Angelina Paris

Merry Christmas! Wherever you are in the world, I wish you peace, hope, love, and joy. And a warm cup of cocoa, or whatever tickles your fancy.

Angelina is a Parisian tea salon famous for their chocolat chaud. Popular among locals and tourists alike, it’s perpetually crowded, and one must be prepared to wait in line. Long queues aren’t my thing while on vacation (too many things to see and do!), so we had an early taste of Paris while in the Dubai Mall when we saw that there was a branch there. (Read about it here.)

Recently, I found out that there’s an Angelina right in the heart of Hong Kong. What with this, Fortnum & Mason, and Venchi gelataria, it seems like a little bit of Europe has come back with us!

Yesterday afternoon, I thought I’d treat myself to lunch at Angelina, since it’s Christmas Eve and all. They have a two-course set lunch available at HKD280, about S$46.

Crab Cakes

I had the starter of crab cakes with mango and green apple, served atop wasabi mayonnaise. These were delectable. I only wished they were bigger. But then again, to paraphrase Mireille Guiliano, author of “French Women Don’t Get Fat”, three bites is all it takes to enjoy a dish. Three bites looks about right. I had to remember dining etiquette and savour these as daintily as I could.

Seabream

For my main course, I had the grilled seabream with parsnip mousseline and Jerusalem artichokes, served with hollandaise sauce. Again, I loved it. If I had to nitpick, the fish was a teensy bit dry on its own, but paired with the sauce, it was amazing. This time, I didn’t bother with table manners and just scraped out every last bit of sauce using my knife. The way I see it, it would have been far more impolite not to finish everything on my plate (and in the jug).

To digress a little, I once watched something on TLC where the host dubbed hollandaise sauce “liquid sunshine”. I couldn’t agree more. Previously, I’ve only ever had it with eggs benedict, and now that I’ve been made aware of the possibilities… Excuse me while I hunt down my whisk. And mixing bowl. And…

Ahem. So yes, that was the two-course set lunch. But you didn’t think I was going to walk away without having dessert, did you?

Chocolate eclair

I didn’t get the hot chocolate this time, and settled on a dark chocolate éclair instead. The pastry was a little tough, but I haven’t had many éclairs in this lifetime (believe it or not), so maybe it was supposed to be that way? Nonetheless, it was rich and chocolate-y and just lovely, really.

So there you go, another delightful dining experience in Hong Kong. Once again, Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year to one and all!

Angelina
Shop 3031-3070/ 3025-3026, IFC, 1 Harbour View Street, Central
中環港景街1號國際金融中心商場連卡佛3樓3025-3026 / 3031-3070號舖
Tel: 3188 0842

2 thoughts on “Lunch at Angelina Paris

Leave a Reply

