An American Mouse in Paris

My love for Disney is no secret. Our Disneymoon (way back in 2012) is still the best trip we’ve ever had. I loved every moment spent in Disney World, and I have to go back someday, maybe with the little ones in tow! And in case you’re interested, here’s the six-part series:

Part One
Part Two
Part Three
Part Four
Part Five
Part Six

When we planned our Europe trip last September, there was no way I was going to miss Disneyland Paris. So with a little fairy dust (and mostly lots of clickety-click), we found ourselves in a Disney park once more!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’ve also decided that I want to go to Disneyland Paris again (more on that later), and stay at the gorgeous Disneyland Hotel next time.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Token #selfie onboard the Autopia.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I saw Wall-E and Eve from afar and ran towards them like a madwoman even though they’re not going anywhere. I couldn’t help my excitement. “Wall-E” was the very first movie that Edwin and I watched together, and so it holds a special place in my heart.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now and always.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Waiting in line at “Star Tours”, which turned out to be incredibly boring. The one in Disney World was much, much better. (I might be doing lots of comparisons, please bear with me!)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Space Mountain: Mission 2”, on the other hand, had some scary space madness going on.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Edwin and I were screaming our faces off, but the dudes behind us seemed pretty chill.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We had lunch at Cafe Hyperion, and you can see that I was thrilled with having a Magnum Mini for dessert.

The dining area also had this auditorium-like space and there were screenings of Disney-Pixar short films, some I knew and some new to me. My favourite is “Day & Night”.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Le Pays des Contes de Fées” (The Land of Fairy Tales), a voyage through beautifully detailed miniature storybook lands.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The cottage of the seven dwarves, and Rapunzel’s tower in the background.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Belle’s village, from “Beauty and the Beast”. Simply stunning.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“We’re off to see the wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Looking more like a happy jail-bird than the Queen of Hearts, but oh well. By the way, “Alice’s Curious Labyrinth” is not just for kids! Several adults, including ourselves, got lost within the maze too!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Peter Pan’s Flight” was one of my favourite rides in Magic Kingdom, so I had high hopes for this one. But alas, it was another disappointment. The poor lighting, awkward arrangement of the set, and less-than-smooth ride made for one very confusing experience. 😦

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Somewhere in every Disney park, it’s Christmas all year round.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Do you want to buy a snowman?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So… Anna and Elsa have been relegated to being store displays. #letitgo

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Beautiful” is an understatement.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Can’t go home without a Disney castle #selfie!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

With my prince. 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Phantom Manor”, which is the Parisian equivalent of “Haunted Mansion”. It’s just as spooky, made all the more chilling by the Cast Members who were really into it. I’m quite the chicken when it comes to such rides, and one of the Cast Members made me almost scream out loud.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As dusk fell upon us, we gathered in front of the castle in anticipation of the fireworks show. So far, I was having mixed feelings about Disneyland Paris. About a third of the attractions were closed for refurbishment, and half the dining spots were closed too. In some areas of the park, it was as though we had walked into a ghost town.

On the bright side, with so few guests in the park, there were hardly any queues. The longest we waited in line was maybe ten minutes, and there was absolutely no need for FASTPASS.

Anyway, I was beginning to feel like Disneyland Paris was a bit of a disappointment, and maybe not worth a second visit. Then the fireworks show commenced.

And it was PERFECT.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Some of the songs were in French, and others were in English. It didn’t matter. These beloved Disney songs were woven together into a medley that told a story of its own, interspersed with the most breathtaking effects. The arrangement was flawless and surpassed even Magic Kingdom, which I didn’t think was possible.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Needless to say, pictures don’t do it justice. But you have to at least see a little of what I’m raving about.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Ah… It was beautiful, touching and magical, and now I just want to go there again. Brilliant.

And guess what? I am! Well, not to Paris, but Hong Kong Disneyland is certainly good enough. We’ll be going next week, and I can’t wait! Can’t even begin to describe how awesome it is to live in a city that’s home to a Disney park.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to blog again soon. Until then, have faith, trust, and a good dose of pixie dust!

3 thoughts on “An American Mouse in Paris

  1. Pingback: Interview with Thoughts and Things | bluebalu: Living in Hong Kong

  2. Pingback: Under the Parisian Sky | Thoughts and Things

  3. Pingback: Holidays at Hong Kong Disneyland – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

