Eiffel Tower Ice-cream at Haagen-Dazs

La Tour Eiffel, c’est une… glace? Well, the folks at Haagen-Dazs have come up with a few new desserts for Le French May, all with a romantic French theme. Of all the dining offers this month, I was most excited about ice-cream, bien sûr.

20150519 La Tour Eiffel

Unfortunately, this was a let-down. The poached pears tasted odd, and I can’t be too sure, but I think they were canned, not fresh. The brownie was average, and the “Eiffel Tower” was made of cheap chocolate.

The only redeeming quality of the dish was the ice-cream. (It’s Haagen-Dazs, after all.) The Belgian chocolate ice-cream was a comforting favourite, while the mango sorbet was divine. I have a feeling I’ll be going back for more sorbet all summer long, and maybe even in the fall.

There was a slight mix-up, though, as the chocolate ice-cream was supposed to be sitting atop the brownie, since that would make more sense. The waitress even confirmed with us as she was taking our order. I didn’t send it back, since they might have to start afresh and I didn’t want to waste food.

Oh well, here’s hoping that the other desserts will taste better, if I get the opportunity to taste them at all. I can’t believe the month of May is coming to an end so quickly! I had hoped to blog more regularly, but life got in the way. Don’t get too excited just yet – it’s not that interesting. It’s mostly work and classes, and some nights, I can’t stay awake long enough to type a coherent sentence. Still, it’s all good, and I can’t complain.

The next post should be about our time in Paris. I’m looking forward to reliving those memories while I share them with you, so watch this space!

Haagen-Dazs
Shop 212, 2/F, Windsor House
311 Gloucester Road
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

