Birthday Dinner at Kinsale

Hello you lovelies! It’s good to be back. I’ve been busy with work and classes, and we’ve also been catching up on some TV shows. Meanwhile, there’s a to-do list that’s a mile long, and along the way I turned a year older. It’s the first birthday that didn’t have much of a celebration. I went to work as usual, and my boss and colleague surprised me with a cake in the middle of class.

20150606 Birthday

There wasn’t even any singing, just a simple “Happy birthday!”. I blew out the candle, then put the cake aside and continued teaching. The cake was cut up and eaten in between classes. That was pretty much it, and I’m fine with that. I really am getting old…

After work, I had my birthday dinner at Kinsale with Edwin. I had been planning to go again since I fairly enjoyed the dining experience there last time, and Edwin hadn’t tried it yet.

20150606 Kinsale Proseco

We started the meal with a couple of celebratory drinks. (It’s my birthday after all!) I had a glass of Prosecco.

20150606 Kinsale West Side

Edwin had one of their signature cocktails, the West Side. It’s got Makers Mark whiskey, fresh grapefruit, honey and orange juice in it.

20150606 Kinsale Bread

Complimentary bread

20150606 Kinsale Arancini

Sundried tomato and taleggio cheese arancini with beetroot relish, roasted garlic aioli, and a rocket and parmesan salad. I had this starter before and I’m either imagining things or these were bigger than the last time. Either way, I’ve got nothing but love for these delectable babies!

20150606 Kinsale Crab Cakes

Lump crab cakes with pineapple and chilli salsa, and gherkin and caper mayonnaise. The crab filling was generous, and the flavours were subtle and balanced. Not bad!

20150606 Kinsale Pork Belly

Unfortunately, the confit pork belly with braised red cabbage, apple sauce, black pudding, and truffle jus was a bit of a disappointment. Overall, it was a little bland and just didn’t pack enough punch. I was hoping for some crispy skin on the pork belly to redeem the dish, but it was rock hard.

20150606 Kinsale Zucchini

On the other hand, the zucchini “spaghetti” with green vegetables, artichokes, lemon, soft herbs and parmesan cream was amazing. Surprisingly, my favourite part of the dish were the artichokes (I don’t care much for them usually). Everything tasted great and there’s also that feel-good green factor!

This time, we were really full and had to pass up on the sweet stuff (shocking!), which was a shame because I really wanted to have their lovely black forest dessert. Well, we’ll eventually wake up early enough one Sunday and go there for brunch!

Kinsale
Shop 2, New Fortune House, Kennedy Town, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2796 6004
http://www.kinsale.com.hk/

Leave a Reply

