Watami Japanese Casual Restaurant 居食屋「和民」

Hello again, here’s a quick one before I go to bed, since I may not have the time once the week starts. Work has been hectic lately, with the new school year coming up and all. Hopefully I’ll be able to take a breather this Thursday, and finally get to revising French before the fall term starts!

Edwin and I dine at Watami semi-regularly, once every few months. Last week while we were there, we discovered that they had changed their menu, with some new items, and sadly, a couple of our favourites gone. Now Itacho is one of the very few places in Hong Kong where we can get our chawanmushi fix. 😦

20150815 Avocado and Salmon Sushi Roll

Salmon and avocado sushi roll. It’s a decent “staple”, but I’d have welcomed more avocado.

20150815 Watami Salad

I loved the Watami salad with sesame dressing. To me, this was the best part of our meal. Even though it was a half portion, it was still rather filling with chicken, prawns, pumpkin slices, and a scoop of tuna mayonnaise on top of the usual greens. I especially enjoyed the crispy strips of fried wanton skin.

20150815 Takoyaki

If I remember correctly, the takoyaki (squid balls) was a new addition. While they tasted okay to me, Edwin hated the dish. In my books, there’s a lot that one can salvage with bonito flakes, but then again, I also believe that you should save your stomach space for more worthy foods, so we’ll be giving this a miss next time.

20150815 Fried Chicken

Watami fried chicken, supposedly made with a special recipe. I have been craving for Korean fried chicken, but until I get my hands (and teeth) on some, this will have to do in the meantime.

The thought of fried chicken is making me hungry at this hour! Maybe for lunch tomorrow…

Watami Japanese Casual Restaurant 居食屋「和民」
Shop B, 8/F., Lee Theatre, 99 Percival Street, Causeway Bay
銅鑼灣波斯富街99號利舞臺廣場8樓B號舖
Tel: 2865 9118

Leave a Reply

