Kichi 吉田舍料理

Does anyone else celebrate their anniversary every month? Maybe it’s just us. Back when we were dating, it was something we did for fun. We’d exchange little gifts and notes (those were the days!), and over the months and years it gradually became more low-key, with more emphasis placed on actual anniversaries.

Still, we make it a point to do something nice together every month. Nothing over the top, no flowers or gifts, just a meal together, maybe a movie. It doesn’t seem particularly exciting, especially since we have date nights or movie nights anyway, so what makes it so special? I don’t know, I guess we’ve become a bit of an old married couple.

Anyway, we decided to try someplace new this time, and Edwin picked the restaurant. I hadn’t heard of Kichi before, and was a little hesitant after reading the mixed reviews on OpenRice. We didn’t make any reservations, but luckily we managed to get seats during lunch hour. We had to share a table, but that’s typical of Hong Kong. When dining in one of the most densely populated cities in the world, I suppose that’s to be expected!

20150820 Kichi Hot Towels

Japanese tea and hot towels. Receiving a hot towel at a restaurant was a new experience for me, and it was much appreciated!

There were several options to choose from for our set lunch. I couldn’t decide, and went with a trio of mini rice bowls!

20150820 Rice Three Ways

From left: tuna “tartare” and ginger, stir-fried pork, and mixed tempura.

The tuna “tartare” (I’m using the term loosely because I don’t really know what else to call it) was interesting, and I mean that in a good way! The vegetable tempura was delicious – much better than many Japanese restaurants! I’m not a fan of prawn tempura, so I just took a bite and gave the rest to Edwin. :p

Out of the three, I enjoyed the one with the stir-fried pork the most, even though it’s the most “normal” dish, and something I could probably replicate at home! Also, the miso soup was surprisingly tasty, and held its own against the rice bowls.

20150820 Sashimi Set

Edwin had the sashimi set. (Apologies for the awkward angle of this photo – I was trying my best not to get in the way of the other people at the same table.)

20150820 Sashimi Close Up

A close-up of that mouth-watering seafood. I had a piece of the tuna and it just melted in my mouth. Best I ever had!

On OpenRice, a number of reviewers mentioned that they had received terrible service, hence I was pleasantly surprised while we were there last Thursday. It was busy and the staff were understandably occupied. Our orders took slightly longer than usual to arrive, but otherwise there was nothing wrong.

Would I go back again? Possibly, if only to have more that amazing tuna! Then again, with so many Japanese restaurants in Hong Kong, I’d want to try them all!

Kichi 吉田舍料理
5 Cameron Road, Tai Hing Plaza 6/F, Tsim Sha Tsui
尖沙咀金馬倫道5號太興廣場6樓
Tel: 2368 0000

Leave a Reply

