Common Room Hong Kong

One of the downsides to my work schedule is having to work Saturdays, which means I don’t get to enjoy Friday nights the way lots of people do. Luckily, the public holiday last Thursday allowed me to meet up with friends for dinner and drinks on Wednesday night. Cheers!

The food menu at Common Room was divided into four sections: earth, sea, land, and heaven. Most of the dishes were served tapas-style. There were several items that I wanted to try – it was almost impossible to choose!

20150902 Lamb Meatballs

Lamb meatballs with homemade tzatziki and fresh mint sauce. While the meatballs were incredibly tender and moist, they were a bit too salty. I wouldn’t recommend having more than one at a go, especially since they’re on the larger side as well. Strictly for sharing!

20150902 Foie Gras Sliders

Wagyu foie gras sliders with caramelised onions, arugula and balsamic reduction. These little babies tasted as good as they looked. Could bar food get any cuter than this?

20150902 Mac and CheeseApparently so. On the menu it said “Classic Mac & Cheese”, but it looked nothing like any mac & cheese I’ve ever had. With a mix of cheeses (buffalo mozzarella, gruyère, parmesan, and gouda) and topped with crispy breadcrumbs, it was probably one of my favourite dishes ever. That parmesan crisp? Cue angels singing.

20150902 Cocktail

This was one of the drinks I had, but it’s off the menu so I don’t have a name for it. I do know that there’s vodka, orange juice, and something else that I can’t identify. Highly refreshing, perfect for warm nights!

While we’re on the subject of cocktails, I tried one at a place called Quinary and it was love at first sip ~

20150905 Lavender Meringue Pie

The name of this drink is Lavender Meringue Pie and it’s divine. It’s like a boozy dessert in liquid form. What a minute – did that even make sense? Oh well, I just know that a toasted marshmallow cocktail is like having my cake and eating drinking it too.

And I’ll toast (in both senses of the word) to that.

Common Room
8 -12 Wo On Lane, Wo On Building,
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2525 3599
http://www.common-room.hk/

Quinary
Ground Floor, 56-58 Hollywood Road
Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2851 3223
http://www.quinary.hk/

Leave a Reply

