A Day of Doing Nothing

Hello again! September’s almost ending, and fall is upon us… when did this happen? In any case, you wouldn’t be able to tell, given that it’s still hot and humid in Hong Kong. Bring on sweater weather and hot chocolate, please!

The last few weeks have been hectic, to say the least. It’s just work, dinner, TV, shower, sleep, repeat. I catch up on Instagram and Facebook while waiting for the bus, and snooze during the commute. It’s insane!

I hate being this busy. Somehow the day has taken such a toll that I don’t have the mental capacity to do anything productive once I get home. This includes writing on the blog, because I don’t post on a whim. No matter what the topic is, it’s important that I think it through before clicking “Publish”.

Today I finally have a day off with nothing planned. Actually I did have something planned, but I’m feeling under the weather so those plans were cancelled. On that note, isn’t it crazy that we’re always making plans for something, wanting to keep busy, but what’s the point?

So after this, I’m just going to go about my day without setting any goals. My ever-growing to-do list can wait. Maybe I’ll play around on the Polyvore playground. Maybe I’ll blog about a recent dining experience. Maybe I’ll blog about something else. Maybe I won’t blog at all. And that’s okay.

If you’re going through a tough time at work or in school, or it’s been a bad week for no apparent reason, just know that you’re not alone. Breathe and let go (as much as you can – I know it’s hard!). It’s going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

