What Not to Do in 2016 (and All the Years Ahead)

The confetti has settled and the champagne’s gone flat – what now?

It appears that the world (the bits visible on social media anyway) is currently divided into two camps. I present Team A:

New Year New Me

…and Team B.

New-Year-New-Me

Yep.

Personally, I lean a little closer to Team A. I like new beginnings, and I like making lists, so New Year’s resolutions are always fun for me. That said, my resolutions are getting shorter and simpler with every year!

Whether or not you’re dusting off last year’s resolutions or making brand new ones (or maybe you just belong to Team B), here’s what not to do:

Do not put life on hold.

In practice, it’s a lot more complicated than it looks. Are you living the life you’ve always wanted? If your answer is yes, then please share your secret with me. I can’t promise that I won’t tell, but I’ll paraphrase at the very least.

There are the big things – health, relationships (family, friends, romantic, etc), passions, careers, peace of mind… There might be others, but I can’t think of any at the moment. And there are the smaller things – clothes, leisure, things we own… You get the idea.

Have you ever thought, “I’ll buy this dress after I lose X kg/pounds” or “I’ll go on that trip after my promotion”? Maybe it’s “I’ll start looking for a new job next year”, or “I want to learn how to play the saxophone, but not right now”.

Why not now?

Of course, there are lots of legitimate reasons. For starters, money (or rather the lack of it). And then there’s time and energy, which also seem to be in short supply. So a typical day is work, eat, shower, sleep. Repeat 364 times, and there you have it, another year of life is gone.

I’m not saying you should up and quit your job. (In fact, you most definitely shouldn’t.) But if it really, really isn’t right for you, then you’ll have to make the time to look around (discreetly) and form a strategy for the near future.

The same goes for other aspects of life. If you’ve always wanted to learn a skill, ask a special someone out on a date, travel someplace, is there anything that’s really holding you back? If not, go for it! (A side note regarding travel – please take the necessary precautions.) If there’s a toxic relationship that’s taking up your time and energy and holding you back, you have to take steps towards letting go, no matter how difficult it is.

It doesn’t have to be all about the “big” things. For example, for me it’s “I’ll cook more often when I move into an apartment with a nicer kitchen”, among other things. Hopefully I will move into a nicer place, but since that hasn’t been confirmed, I really shouldn’t wait till then. So this month, I’m finally going to get a new rice cooker, and use the blender that’s been sitting in box for longer than I care to admit.

It’s a tricky balancing act between dreams and reality, but life really is short, so we’ve got to make it count. Like I said, it’s complicated, but let’s start taking the first steps, and we’ll figure it out along the way.

 

One thought on “What Not to Do in 2016 (and All the Years Ahead)

  1. Pingback: When Less is Truly More – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

