OSO Ristorante Singapore: Italian Fine Dining

Hello from sunny Singapore! Although it isn’t sunny at the moment. It’s 1am as I’m typing this, because I’d been trying in vain to connect to the Internet. Apparently my super power is “anti-Wifi”, which does NOT work for me. Anyway, on to the business at hand…

Back in December, Edwin and I had dinner with my father and sister at this really swanky Italian restaurant called Oso. On their website, they call themselves “a cultural and gastronomical embassy of Italy”, which is quite the tall order. So how did they measure up?

20151203 Bread

Assorted bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I liked the little breadsticks and I have so much love for focaccia (on the right), you don’t really want to know how much.

20151203 Parma Ham and Melon

18-months Parma ham with rock melon. Do you see how the melon pieces are drowning in slices of Parma ham? It’s okay, melon, I’ll save you! (Not really.)

20151203 Foie Gras

Pan-fried foie gras, bruschetta, and red currant berries. Admittedly the dish wasn’t visually appealing, but it tasted just fine. Helps that the people at the table really love foie gras.

20151203 Lobster Soup

This was the seafood and fish soup, if I remember correctly. When it arrived, it smelled so strongly like lobster bisque, but tasted nothing like it, so the overall experience was a little strange. Not a bad-tasting soup though, it just lacked the creaminess I was hoping for.

20151203 Duck Confit

My father had the goose comfit with sweet corn and vin brule (another French-y dish, but never mind that). I had some of the goose, and it was so good, especially the crispy skin.

20151203 Fish

My sister had the roasted cod with balsamico sauce and rosemary potatoes. I can’t remember if I tried the fish, but I remember that the potatoes were rather lovely.

20151203 Linguine

Fettuccine with de-shelled baby lobster, basil and San Marzano tomato for Edwin, the seafood pasta lover. Doesn’t that lobster look amazing?

20151203 Scallops

As for myself, I had pan-fried scallops with cauliflower puree. While the scallops were delectable, I didn’t understand why there were large pieces of cauliflower sitting in cauliflower puree. Too. Much. Cauliflower. Cauliflower-overdose. Cauliflower-ception. Okay, you get the idea.

20151203 Tiramisu

For dessert, I had to try the tiramisu. I don’t think there was any booze in it, which was disappointing, but it did have a coffee kick, and was adequately moist. The tuile provided some a nice touch.

Overall, it was an enjoyable meal, especially taking into account the ambiance and service, which were excellent. There’s a Valentine’s Day menu up on their website, and it certainly looks promising. So there, you’ve got at least one idea regarding where to go on this special day…

OSO Ristorante by Colleoni & Chiarini
46 Bukit Pasoh Road, 089858
Tel: 6327 8378
oso.sg

Leave a Reply

