Penang: Sights and Bites

Just want to share a little more about Penang (from our trip in December) before I close the chapter for now:

20151208 Winter Warmers

There’s a quaint little cafe that I like to visit while in Penang, called Winter Warmers. The food isn’t great, but the long list of teas is what brings me back every time. Pictured is the lime and chrysanthemum tea.

You can also purchase tea leaves to enjoy a cuppa at home. It’s a bit like TWG, only less atas (high class) and more affordable. I like the ambiance as well – like sitting in someone’s cute little dining room in the country.

20151208 Winter Warmers1

Also for sale are tea cups and accessories like tea strainers and such. Aren’t these just darling?

20151210 Time Crisis II

I can’t begin to tell you just how thrilled I was to come across one of these. “Time Crisis II” is one of the few games I can sort-of play, i.e. not die right away. This is where we spent a good half an hour (and more tokens than I care to admit).

20151212 Penang Peranakan Museum

One of the highlights of our trip was a visit to the Penang Peranakan Museum. Uncle David (my 大姑丈) was our personal guide and it was amazing to see all this history in this grand old mansion. Edwin is not-so-secretly quite the museum junkie and he’s always impressed with Uncle David’s depth of knowledge of the local history.

20151212 PPM

Didn’t take too many pictures as there were tourists everywhere. Literally in every corner of the place.

I’ll leave you with a couple of shots of famous Penang dishes. You’re about to get some cravings…

20151212 Kueh Pie Ti

Kueh pie ti.

20151212 Penang Char Kway Teow

My favourite char kway teow and Nescafe 冰 (iced coffee, something I only drink when in Malaysia). *drools*

Hmm… I wonder if there are any places in Hong Kong that serve a decent rendition?

Leave a Reply

