Anniversary Dinner at Passione Italian Restaurant

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

passion

noun pas·sion \ˈpa-shən\
  • : a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something (Source)

Like many people, I’m especially passionate about good food, and the opportunity for new dining experiences. For our 3rd wedding anniversary back in October, Edwin and I headed to Passione, a newly-opened Italian restaurant, which you can read more about here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Scaloppa di fegato grasso d’anatra servita con quaglia lardellata // Pan-fried duck foie gras served with roasted quail and caramelised hazelnut

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Unfortunately I couldn’t locate the exact name of this dish, but you can see that its primary ingredients are prawns and courgette flowers. I first fell in love with courgette flowers as a tapas dish in Salt Yard, so I really wanted to try Passione’s rendition.

However, when they first served us the dish, it was without the aforementioned flowers. I had to ask for the menu to see if I was mistaken, but no, somehow someone had forgotten a key ingredient, which to be honest was rather off-putting. Anyway, the mistake was later rectified, but taste-wise, it wasn’t as good as I had hoped.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Pasta with asparagus. Again, no exact name. I’m afraid that this isn’t the most informative post. I’m working on procrastinating a little less, please be patient with me!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Spaghetti alle vongole // Spaghetti with clams in white wine sauce

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tiramisu

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I have mixed feelings about bouquets. On one hand, I think that they’re an unnecessary expense. On the other hand, I’m not-so-secretly thrilled whenever I receive one. Perhaps when we finally move to a proper apartment, I can get a vase to display the flowers so that they don’t wilt in some corner.

This is it for our dining experience. I had read some good reviews before making a reservation, but unfortunately Passione just didn’t live up to its name in my books. The ambiance and service were pleasant enough, but ultimately the food was underwhelming. With prices like theirs, a return trip seems unlikely.

Do stay tuned for more posts later this week, as I attempt to gradually clear my “backlog”. In addition to our anniversary dinner, we also had a celebratory brunch earlier that weekend. I so love good food, although you probably know that by now.

Passione Italian Restaurant

3/F, Jardine Centre, 50 Jardine’s Bazzar, Causeway Bay
銅鑼灣渣甸街50號渣甸中心3樓
Tel: 3523 1955
Leave a Reply

