Holidays at Hong Kong Disneyland

Truth be told, I’m a little envious of folks who live near Disney World or Disneyland in the States. If I were a resident of Orlando, I’d definitely be an Annual Pass holder. And while my peers are barhopping, I’ll be hopping over to one of the parks at least once every fortnight, even if it’s just to watch the fireworks!

In comparison, Hong Kong Disneyland is much smaller and well, less exciting than its American counterparts, but it’s good enough for me. Besides, it’s literally the closest thing I’ve got, since I can’t afford to fly to Florida or California every year.

You might then be surprised to know that I don’t have the Annual Pass for Hong Kong Disneyland, considering I’ve been there four times already, including this most recent trip. Well, two of those four times were with complimentary tickets, and I’m definitely not complaining. :p

In any case, I’m seriously thinking of getting it. If there’s going to be more Star Wars stuff featured in Disneyland, I might go there again during Star Wars weekend! (Can you tell that I’m addicted to Disney?)

Alright, enough yakking. Picture time!

DH1

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We were there a week before Christmas, and on a weekday, but it was insanely crowded. I cannot imagine just how packed it’ll be on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day!

DH5

The castle’s barely visible in this shot! Well, real estate in Hong Kong is so expensive, even the castles are smaller than average. -_-

DH6

Mickey-shaped waffle = the happiest breakfast on Earth!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Baymax! I kinda regret not getting one. (It’s okay – more incentive to go to Disneyland again soon!)

Also, I didn’t DisneyBound as any character this time round. I was tearing my hair out over what to wear, and in the end I just went with a mint tulle skirt and the only coat I had that matched it. The colour of the skirt reminded me a little of Elsa’s dress from “Frozen Fever”, so I added a snowflake brooch, which you can see most clearly in the Mickey waffle photo.

Our first stop after Main Street was Tomorrowland, since it was the nearest and had the more popular rides. Queues are generally shorter in the morning, as with most other theme parks. We went on a number of rides (Space Mountain! Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters! Autopia! Orbitron!) before heading out of the park, and to Disneyland Hotel for lunch.

DH8

Our Disney dimsum lunch at the luxurious Crystal Lotus! I’ll do separate post about this soon, I promise!

After lunch, we shopped a little bit in the hotel gift shop. The shops in the park itself can be rather noisy and chaotic, especially in the evening. On the other hand, there are generally fewer guests in the hotel gift shop, which is nice when you want a leisurely shopping experience, and the staff will be able to provide more attentive service, should you require it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Back in the park! Even though we had a huge lunch, I had to have my churros!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We spent quite a bit of time in one of Disneyland’s newest attractions – Fairy Tale Forest, presented by Pandora. I was wondering if there’d be any crystals or pieces of jewellery or something that resembled the Pandora charms featured in the displays, but nope.

It’s a teensy bit similar to Le Pays des Contes de Fées (The Land of Fairy Tales) in Disneyland Paris, except here you have to walk through the attraction instead of taking a little boat. And you get to take pictures with the displays, as opposed to of the displays.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

They’re like dioramas that light up!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The castle from “Beauty and the Beast”, with a section that opens to reveal the ballroom scene!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

One of my favourite Disney movies, and one of my favourite songs!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The castle from “Cinderella”. Every couple of minutes, it’d be “midnight” and the clock would chime.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

If I were ever to have my own castle (well, a girl can dream), I’d want one by the sea, just like in “The Little Mermaid”!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Gah, I’ve been framed!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The magical beings at Disney have waved their wands and made it snow! Only now Elsa is getting all the credit for it. I like “Frozen” well enough, but since my childhood was during the Disney Renaissance, my heart will always belong to movies like “Pocahontas”, “Mulan”, and of course, “Aladdin”.

That’s it from me tonight! Thanks for reading! Sending good vibes and Disney wishes to everyone!

One thought on “Holidays at Hong Kong Disneyland

  1. Pingback: Shopping at Hong Kong Disneyland (Part Two) – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

