The Side Hustle

Another month has passed, just like that, and I don’t understand how I’ve been so busy, yet it feels like I haven’t accomplished much. It’s just the usual – work, evening classes twice a week, and doing homework and revision in between. Well, now that I’ve typed it, it sort of makes sense now.

It hasn’t been all work and no play though – my friend Michelle (yes I happen to share a name with lots of other girls) dropped by in Hong Kong a couple of weeks ago!

pullman-afternoon-tea

We had afternoon tea at the Pullman at Park Lane. I truly hope that I’ll be able to blog about this soon!

Reading for pleasure has found its way back into my life, which is something I’m happy about. I mostly read during my commute, but also sometimes while having dinner at a quiet cafe.

14156294_183429225422691_1721344052_n

I try not to read fiction at home because I usually get home late enough as it is, and generally that’s the time to do laundry (quick wash mode), take a shower, and get ready for bed. Life hacks to get better quality sleep include putting aside all screens and not getting overly excited, which can be tricky when reading a real page-turner!

Well, look at me going on and on… The intended subject of this post is the side hustle, which is something I’ve been hearing about recently, but really got my attention in this article, which talks about morning rituals, and working on one’s side hustle is one of them.

First things first, what is a side hustle anyway?

side-hustle

Ah, so that’s what it is. Do you have one?

In my mind, I consider blogging to be my side hustle, even though I don’t make any money from it. Then it’s really just a hobby. But hey, who’s to say that I won’t make money from this someday?

I love blogging. There’s something cathartic about getting those words and feelings out. I hope that you enjoy reading about my experiences, be it at a restaurant, Disneyland, or some far-flung destination, as much as I enjoy sharing them.

So it is with this sentiment that I’ve woken up earlier today, to take that first step to make my life better, happier, more well-rounded. True, I’ve got a long way to go, and an even longer to-do list, but that’s okay. One step at a time.

And because this image has been in my mind for a while…

hustle-gif

One thought on “The Side Hustle

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Afternoon Tea at The Park Lane Hong Kong – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

