Zafran – Spanish Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

Desayuna mucho, come más, cena poco y vivirás.

The above is a Spanish phrase that roughly translates to “Eat a big breakfast, have a bigger lunch, have a light dinner and you will live a long life.” (Source) As I have been tweaking my daily schedule, sleeping and waking up earlier, this little nugget of wisdom helps to ensure that I don’t go to bed still feeling stuffed. Truth be told, my body is still adjusting to lighter dinners and I do feel a bit hungry just before I sleep. It is useful in the mornings though – nothing gets me out of bed faster than a rumbling tummy!

Bigger lunches are also easier on the wallet (as opposed to big dinners). Edwin and I sometimes meet up for a lunch date in the city, where lots of restaurants offer 2 or 3 course sets at reasonable prices. Going for a meal at one of these restaurants usually involves trekking uphill, but it’s usually worth it. Plus, it’s a built-in pre-meal workout.

During one of our lunch dates, we decided to give Zafran a try. It was insanely hot that afternoon, but once we descended the steps into the basement, we were greeted by cool, “glam cave”-like surroundings – a bit like a wine cellar.

20160623_124701

Complimentary bread with olive oil and sea salt.

Starters

20160623_125144

Trinxat de la Cerdanya with Morcilla (Potatoes, Cabbage, and Garlic). A decent start to the meal, although I was hoping for punchier garlic flavours to come through.

20160623_125200

Fried Eggs with Chorizo. It’s really an omelette that’s undercooked and slightly runny on the inside, and Edwin raved about it. Now he wants me to recreate this dish at home. :/ Hmm… shouldn’t be too hard. Okay, you’re on.

Mains

20160623_131043

Grilled Salmon with Pumpkin with Almonds. Salmon is one of my go-to proteins, can’t really go wrong with it.

20160623_131054

Spaghetti with Red Pesto. Not terrible, but not great either.

Desserts

20160623_133732

Fresh Seasonal Fruit Salad. I feel like the word “refreshing” is somewhat overused when describing a summery dessert, but that’s really what it is. I’m not usually a fan of pomegranate, but here it was actually one of my favourite components!

20160623_133747

Chocolate with Bread, Salt and Olive Oil. Some years back I would have balked at the thought of having chocolate and salt in the same mouthful, but now I’m in love with this flavour combination! Kinda like Gloria in an episode of Modern Family.

20160623_133748

And that’s all for now, folks. Just a quick post to ease myself back into the blogging routine. I’m probably crazy for thinking this right now, but the idea of vlogging has crossed my mind. Content-wise, it’d be quite similar to the blog – Disney, travel, maybe dining, although I’m not too sure about the last one. Imagine someone sitting at the next table talking into the camera throughout dinner – as if Instagram wasn’t enough!

What do you guys think? Let me know!

Zafran – Spanish Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

Basement, Yu Yuet Lai Building, 43-55 Wyndham Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Central
中環蘭桂坊雲咸街43-55號余悅禮行地庫
Tel: 2116 8855
One thought on “Zafran – Spanish Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

Leave a Reply

