5 Ways to Make Your Day Better

Initially I had planned to put up a post featuring some snapshots from last year’s Melbourne trip, but then I felt a little daunted by the task of having to sort through the various photos, then having to compact them so that they wouldn’t take up so much space. Then it reminded me that I have yet to buy my own domain, and it’s on my ever-growing to-do list…

This is silly. Why am I getting stressed out what is essentially a hobby? Why do I impose all these deadlines on myself, along with a dozen expectations on what I should do and how I should do them?

So I’m taking a break from that tonight. And you know what I’m going to do first? Breathe. Inhale. Exhale. This is good stuff. I recommend it.

How’s your day been? If it hasn’t been great, hey, me too. If it’s going swell… well, a little breathing never hurt anyone. And since we’re all here, I’m going to share a few tips will hopefully make your day that bit better.

  1. Plan your outfit for tomorrow. Wear something nice. It doesn’t have to be fancy (although it certainly can be), just something that makes you feel good. It’ll make the next morning a bit easier, and you can look forward to wearing something you like.
  2. If you have the time, re-read your favourite book. Or just your favourite chapter. Tweet about a line from the book that resonates with you.
  3. Listen to this song:
  4. Fantasize about your next holiday. I’m dreaming about Disneyland in Anaheim, California. No surprises there.
  5. Put your laptop, smartphone, and any other gadget you have away for the night. If you still need to unwind a bit more before you sleep, find an activity that doesn’t involve a screen. I have a Sudoku book, and I work on a page every night. It might seem odd to exercise your mind so close to bedtime, but I find that concentrating on numbers (and blocking out all other thoughts) greatly relaxes me, and I’ve been having greater quality sleep.

I’m going to log off. I hope that your day has improved, and remember – breathe.

2 thoughts on “5 Ways to Make Your Day Better

Leave a Reply

