St Anne’s Winery, Melbourne, Australia

Can’t believe November’s ending… where did the year go?!? On the bright side, there’s nothing like Christmas! Do you have any plans for the holidays? Edwin and I will probably stay home and have a quiet Christmas, just the two of us and the TV. Since it’s the festive season, we might also have some fancy snacks like cheese and parma ham, maybe some wine? Sounds like fun already!

Anyway, I’m (still) going through photos of last year’s Melbourne trip, and I’ve been wanting to share some pictures of St Anne’s Winery. Initially I thought to put everything together in a general “Sights and Sounds” type of post, but it’d be too long, I didn’t quite know how to structure it and thus never got around to doing it.

Now that I finally have some time on my hands, I still feel overwhelmed by the prospect of sorting hundreds of photos. So you know what? I’m just going to do a mini post. Why didn’t I think of that earlier? D’oh!

sa1

At the entrance/parking lot

sa2sa3

Now THIS is what I call wine tasting. After the massive disappointment that was Gurdies Winery, we finally had a proper experience here. There were at least a dozen wines (possibly more) that we could try, and the staff was wonderfully warm. They were happy to make recommendations and to explain what makes a certain wine special. The jargon usually goes right past me, but if you fancy yourself a connoisseur then you’ll definitely appreciate the effort.

sa4

So much fun trying the different wines. Got a bottle of (what else?) moscato and orange chocolate liqueur, while Mum bought a bottle of red wine. The price lists were displayed clearly on the counter, so you don’t have to worry that the taste you just fell in love with is secretly $100 a bottle. In any case, the prices were all reasonable, with most of the wine costing less than $20 a bottle.

sa5

Also, mad respect for how shiny their floors are LOL.

sa6sa7

I have a feeling this is what my sister’s ideal living room would look like.

sa8

Some of these barrels were ENORMOUS! Two of them combined would be roughly the size of my apartment.

sa9sa10sa11

If you’re travelling with children or non-drinking adults, St Anne’s offers other goodies too, so they won’t be too left out. The kiddies (and kids-at-heart) would be especially interested in the candy, methinks.

sa12

Ending with another massive THANK YOU to Uncle Michael who brought us around different parts of the city, including this place! Hope to see you all in Melbourne again soon!

Leave a Reply

