NYX Haul & Review: The Go-to Palette, Retractable Eye Liner, and Butter Gloss

An alternative title is “I have no idea what I’m doing”.

Today is the day I pretend to be a beauty blogger and y’all humour me, alright?

Purchased from FACESSS at Harbour City.
Palette: HK$175
Eye Liner: HK$55
Lip Gloss: free with purchase of two or more items 🙂

PHOTOS

The palette that I got is GTP02 Bon Voyage. There could be others, but this was the only eye + cheek palette that I saw in the store that day. I bought this with the intention of using it as a travel palette, seeing that it’s got just about everything I’d need: neutral/bold eyeshadow colours, highlight, blush, and bronzer.

SWATCHES

From top to bottom: Shades 1 to 6

From top to bottom: Shades 7 to 9

From the top: Shade 4, Urban Decay Virgin, Shade 3, Urban Decay Smog

Shade 4 from the NYX palette is slightly darker, warmer, and more matte when compared to Virgin. Shade 3 is lighter and warmer than Smog, with slightly less of a sheen.

There are a multitude of reasons why I can’t be a beauty blogger. One of them is that I simply don’t own that many beauty products, and I have no intention to. My ONLY other makeup palette is the Urban Decay NAKED palette, so I don’t have many other eyeshadow colours for the purpose of comparison.

Also, getting all the swatches was a painstakingly long process. A lot of tape was harmed in the making of this blog post.

Left: Kanebo eyeliner pencil in BR-26
Right: NYX Retractable Eye Liner in MPE06 Gold

As you can see from the photo, the Kanebo eyeliner is just a teensy bit darker with visible glitter, but they’re really similar otherwise.

Left: Gucci Lip Vibrant Demi-Glaze Lip Lacquer in 200 Dark Romance
Right: NYX Butter Gloss in BLGM22 Devil’s Food Cake

When I swatched these, I was surprised by how alike they were. On the back of my hand, they were practically identical. On the lips, the NYX gloss was a bit sheerer, but that’s about it.

So while I don’t have much makeup, what I do have is similar to each other. Hmm…

OUT AND ABOUT

Both photos were taken on the same day under drastically different lighting. Neither picture shows it, but the blush and bronzer were a bit much on my skin. I’m super pale and occasionally get mistaken for a vampire, plus I have zero contouring skills, so the bronzer ended up looking muddy on me.

In the pictures I was wearing shades 3, 4, and 6 over a primer (the Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original). I’ve since worn the other eyeshadow shades over the same primer with minimal issues.

On one occasion, I wore shades 3, 4, and 6 without a primer underneath and there was some creasing and fading by the six hour mark. By the ten hour mark I had a raccoon eye going on. Luckily I was already home by then!

Thank you for making it all the way to the end, it’s highly appreciated. Seeing as I’ve basically described most of my stuff in a single post, this might be the last makeup-related post. But hey, never say never. 😉

One thought on “NYX Haul & Review: The Go-to Palette, Retractable Eye Liner, and Butter Gloss

  1. Pingback: Etude House Haul & Review: Big Cover Concealer Cushion, Face Conditioning Fixer, and Manuka Honey Face Mask – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

