5 Trends I Just Don’t Get

I’d like to start off by saying that I have absolutely nothing against anyone who wears any of the items listed below. If you love these fashion trends, good for you! I just happen to find the following things perplexing:

1. Choker Sweaters

“I want to keep my neck warm but my décolletage must be visible at all times, never mind the cold. Also, my elbows aren’t dry enough and need to be aired.”

2. Cold Shoulder Tops/Dresses

This trend is everywhere. It seems like everyone and their mother has one of these, but I simply don’t get it. If it’s warm enough to bare your shoulders, it’s warm enough to bare your arms. Maybe it’s got the look of an off-shoulder top but feels more secure due to the two straps holding it up? From the way some of these are cut, you’d have to wear a strapless bra underneath. Where’s the fun in that?

3. Distressed Jeans

Another insanely popular trend that I don’t understand. I’d never spend money on an article of clothing that looks like it’s been in an accident.

Also, because ripping apart perfectly good denim isn’t enough, pairing said denim with fishnet stockings is now apparently a thing.

4. Sheer Dresses

I don’t mind those romantic see-through dresses that are meant to be worn over slips, but the casual variety boggles my mind. This outfit would have been perfectly fine if it were just the T-shirt, jeans, and boots. (I’m even willing to overlook the distressed denim bit.) But let’s throw a sheer asymmetrical dress on top, because… fashion?

5. T-shirts Under Slip Dresses

To me, it looks like a stop-gap solution for when you want to wear a slip dress but don’t want to compromise on modesty. It’d seem a lot easier to just get a T-shirt dress. Less laundry to deal with.

Bonus feature!

Nude Shoes with Black Stockings

I’m not listing this as a trend because it doesn’t appear to be one, although it apparently was a thing back in 2010, and even SJP did this back in the day. It’s also something that I see every single time I head to to Central and some OL (Office Lady) sports this look, and it looks more accidental than intentional. Nude shoes are meant to elongate the legs, and bare legs at that. A similar effect can be achieved with black stockings and black shoes, so why deviate from a tried-and-true formula?

Well, as much as I don’t understand these trends, it seems like some of them are here to stay. Okay, end of rant! This is a sure sign that I have become a cranky old lady who complains about what others are wearing. Still, this was all done in good humour, and I hope you’ve enjoyed the post. I’ll try to get at least one more up before going on holiday, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

