Friday Night Snapshots

Thought I’d put up some more photos from Natasha and Derek’s trip in Hong Kong, featuring Sohofama, Little Bao, and Quinary. This isn’t strictly a review, mostly pictures with lazy captions. Let’s go!

SOHOFAMA

Natasha’s cocktail, which goes by the name of something like Imperial Palace.

Smoking Chamomile. I didn’t take a picture of this, only a video. This is a screenshot of the video, hence the poor image quality.

SF3

SOHO Squid (which is really just 椒鹽鮮魷, fried squid with salt and pepper) and 酸辣湯 hot and sour soup. There’s also a glass of San Miguel in the background.

SF4

Chicken soup with wontons, probably the healthiest thing we had that evening.

SF5

New Zealand clams in sake broth.

SF6

Fried rice with Spanish chorizo.

We also had truffle xiaolongbao and beef sliders, but I forgot to take photos of those. 😡

We went to Soho with the intention of having dinner at Little Bao, but we were told that we’d have to wait for more than an hour to be seated. We were famished, so we walked round the corner and discovered Sohofama, which was such a blessing in disguise. Food and service was lovely, and I’d definitely go back for more. It was on the pricier side – the bill came to HK$1309 (~US$168.40/~S$235.30) for four people, but it’s worth considering for special occasions and gatherings.

LITTLE BAO

We headed there after our meal at Sohofama, because nothing says “indulgence” like a second dinner, no?

SLB1

Pork belly bao.

SLB2

Szechuan fried chicken bao.

Ice-cream bao with green tea ice-cream and condensed milk.

While the food was great (the ice-cream bao was the bomb), I wish I could say the same about the service. The front of house, or whatever the equivalent at Little Bao, was disgustingly rude and condescending. I half-wanted to leave, but I’d heard such good things about the food so we decided to just give it a try.

Now that I’ve ticked it off the list, no meal is good enough to overlook service as bad as this, and I probably won’t be returning. I’d definitely reconsider if there’s confirmation saying that guy isn’t working there anymore.

QUINARY

Otherwise known as the home of my favourite cocktail.

Clockwise from top left: Glenfiddich 18 years (if I remember correctly), Quinary Sour, Aperol Spritz, Lavender Meringue Pie.

I adore Lavender Meringue Pie. It’s the drink I order whenever I’m here. Hahaha it sounds like I frequent Quinary all the time when in truth this was only my third visit. But I love it that much, possibly because it’s essentially a dessert in cocktail form.

The drink on the top left corner is Edwin’s and I know for a fact it’s whiskey because he fancies himself a connoisseur and doesn’t touch anything else when at a bar.

********

So Edwin and I have just returned from our Easter getaway in Taipei, and I promise not to procrastinate as long as I usually do with the blog posts. After this one goes up, I’ll be sorting out photos from the trip, and arranging the various souvenirs that we bought (did a lot of damage this time round). Between this and other pending posts, I’ve got quite a bit on my plate. Also, because I’m the overly ambitious type, I’m hoping to get all this done by the end of the month. I’ve got some plans for May, mostly regarding Le French May, and we’ll be travelling again too! Exciting stuff, so watch this space!

One thought on “Friday Night Snapshots

  1. yea.. bad service can ruin even the best meals… it’s too bad. never understand how a restaurant will have bad front of house service.. service is just as important as the food.

Leave a Reply

