Maison Libanaise

Y’all know that I love Middle Eastern food, so when Edwin and I were in Soho during the lunch hour rush, the name and bright exterior of the place caught my eye immediately. The ground floor was dedicated to takeaways, while the dining area was located upstairs.

The interior was warm and cozy, and surprisingly quiet given that it’s lunch time in Central. I don’t have any pictures of the decor though – I’ll try to do better next time!

ML0ML1

Pita bread – always a comfort food in my books!

Grilled Kafta with Rice Pilaf

The lamb, while flavourful, was a little dry. Also, the rice was cold. I’m not sure whether it’s supposed to be cold, but we were expecting warm rice, so it was a little disappointing. The hummus really hit the spot though.

ML3

Shish Taouk with Rice Pilaf

The chicken was much better – it was tender, juicy, and had just the right amount of mint. What’s worth noting is that although “chilli” was written on the menu for both items, I didn’t detect much spiciness, just the fragrance of chilli.

ML4

For dessert, the available options were cake and baklava, and I obviously went for the latter. These were insanely sweet, as they usually are, so the tiny morsels were more than enough to satisfy my sweet tooth!

Given that we were there for lunch, we had a limited menu to choose from. I wouldn’t mind going back to Maison Libanaise for dinner in order to sample more Lebanese fare, and maybe even try their famous wines!

Maison Libanaise
10 Shelley Street, Soho, Hong Kong
Tel: 2111 2284
www.maisonlibanaise.com.hk

Leave a Reply

