Shopping in Taipei: Makeup, Skincare, and Disney Haul!

Hello lovelies! Yes, I’m finally back! Edwin and I were in Singapore last week to celebrate Mother’s Day with our families. I brought my laptop along, thinking I’d get to use it in the evenings, but boy did life have other plans. I somehow managed to schedule dinner dates with old friends every night, and while it meant that there wasn’t time to blog, I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Now that it’s back to the daily grind, I can’t wait to share with you all the various purchases that we made during our Easter getaway in Taipei. Picture time!

I probably got a little carried away… this isn’t even all of it! (You’ll see more in the photos below.) It isn’t all for me though – a good chunk of these were meant as gifts, and have already found their way to the intended recipients.

Also, I apologise for the poor quality of the images. I took these with my phone, and didn’t realise how grainy they were until I saw them on the computer screen just now. I promise to work on my photography skills, and hopefully you’ll get better pictures next time!

LLang sheet masks. It’s a Korean brand I hadn’t heard of, but the packaging was just too cute to resist. How adorable is the “Roman Holiday” reference (top left)?Most of the masks have been given to friends and co-workers, and so far I’ve used the “Seaweed from Jeju” mask on myself – works okay!

For those interested, the masks retail for TWD99 (~HK$25.60/S$4.50/US$3.30) each at Cosmed. It sounds rather steep, but you can buy ten masks for just TWD350 (~HK$90.50/S$16.10/US$11.60)! Not going to bore you with more numbers, just going to say that it’s a massive discount, and a great deal!

More sheet masks, this time from The Face Shop, also a Korean beauty brand. There were so many to choose from at the store, but I just picked the five “flavours” that appealed to me the most. Some of them have also been given away, and I plan on using the “Longan” mask next.

Makeup purchased from Cosmed. Solone is a Taiwanese cosmetics brand which I was really eager to try out, mostly because they had several products that were inspired by Alice in Wonderland. To my disappointment, many of the eyeshadow and blush colours featured on the website couldn’t be found in the stores (and I went to A LOT of them!), so the only Alice-inspired thing I got was a basic black pencil eyeliner (review coming soon).

The blush and mascara are from Integrate, which is a Japanese brand, and apparently Elite Models is a French brand, which I didn’t know. You can’t really tell from the photo, but the eyelash curler is rose gold in colour, and it’s gorgeous.

I don’t have the price of the Alice eyeliner, but the prices of the other products are stated below:

Solone stick eyeshadow     TWD259 (~HK$67/S$11.90/US$8.60)
Solone brow gel                   TWD350 (~HK$90.50/S$16.10/US$11.60)
Integrate blush                    TWD298 (~HK$77.10/S$13.70/US$9.90)
Integrate mascara               TWD272 (~HK$70.40/S$12.50/US$9)
Eyelash curler                      TWD139 (~HK$36/S$6.40/US$4.60)

I’ve listed the retail prices of the Solone stick eyeshadow and the brow gel for your reference, but I actually bought them as a set, and together they cost only TWD329 (~HK$85.20/S$15.10/US$10.90)! Another insanely good deal, and more reviews to come!

Bought the May issue of Vivi magazine at the airport, and it came with a free general knowledge book and a picnic style guide!

We walked past a bookstore and thought we’d just take a peek. We ended up spending almost an hour, and almost all our cash as well! Bought the scores of our favourite musicals and Disney movies.

Biscuits for Edwin’s friends and ginger tea for his parents.

Fruit tea from Smith & Hsu! It’s a bit cheesy, but I really did fall in love with “Fallin’ in Love Again”. Some of it will be given away, as soon as I get some jars to put the tea leaves in!

And in case you were wondering when the Disney stuff was going to be featured, I saved the best for last!

There’s nail polish from The Face Shop featuring Pocahontas and Belle, two of my favourite Disney princesses. I got the Tsum Tsum tissues from a convenience store, and everything else is from (where else?) Cosmed. The Disney villains sheet masks are from Sexy Look, a Taiwanese skincare brand, and the Beauty and the Beast products are from Lovemore, also a Taiwanese brand.

Sexy Look sheet masks are available in Hong Kong as well, but I’ve only ever seen the Disney princess ones here. It’s quite unexpected and thus refreshing to see the villains being featured, and since there was a one-for-one offer (TWD299, I’m too tired to work out the rest of the math at this stage), I went ahead and got Ursula and the Evil Queen.

OMG the packaging is to die for! My Tsum Tsum plushies (from Hong Kong Disneyland) agree.

As though that wasn’t enough Disney madness, we also purchased jars of honey with Tsum Tsum packaging. The Chip and Dale pouch was a freebie from Gracegift because…

I BOUGHT TSUM TSUM SHOES!!!

*squeals with joy*

I’m not a sneaker person (give me ballet flats any day), but these were too adorable to pass up. Can’t wait to wear these babies – maybe on my next trip to Disneyland?

And… we’re done! Thanks for reading all the way, and I hope you’ve enjoyed it. There’ll be some reviews coming up, as well as one more “haul” post, because… I bought more Disney stuff in Singapore.

Ah.

3 thoughts on “Shopping in Taipei: Makeup, Skincare, and Disney Haul!

  1. Pingback: Solone Cosmetics Review: Color Party One Step Magical Stick Eyeshadow – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

