Picnic Singapore

So as mentioned in the last post, we’re in the second half of 2017. Where has the year gone? I’d been wanting to do more on the blog, but now I feel like there’s a case of writer’s block. Yes, it’s just a blog, but it’s my outlet. Honestly, I shouldn’t feel too worried about it and just create whatever makes me happy, and the “flow” should naturally work its way back in, right? After all, the best way to improve at something is practice, practice, practice.

So with that in mind, I’m going to tackle the post that’s been sitting in “Drafts” for some weeks now. While in Singapore, Edwin and I had a double date with my old friend Ruihong and his girlfriend Pamela. As we’d been out of town for a while, I asked Ruihong to pick the place and he sent me a link about this place called Picnic.

Picnic is an indoor food court that is slightly more high-end than most. While the decor is lush, I wouldn’t exactly call it “bringing the outdoors in” – more hipster chic than actual urban jungle, if you will.

The food choices on offer are a good mix of international cuisines, from Japanese to Italian, with some fusion thrown in.

Edwin and I arrived super early, so we had time to snap a few photos.

First impressions: this place is begging to be Instagram-ed. If I were based in Singapore, I might routinely round up my girlfriends to have monthly gatherings at the prettiest eateries, and this would probably be fairly high on the list.

For anyone who’s ever dined at Marche, this would feel rather familiar. You order either directly from a stall or from a touchscreen next to it, and collect your food from a pick up counter when it’s ready. Payment is made at the end of your meal at the exit (where the girl in the red top is standing).

I’d been craving a root beer float for the longest time. Quite excited about A&W coming back to Singapore, but I’m guessing there’ll be insane lines for the first few months. It might be easier to go to Malaysia instead!

Rosti with the usual toppings you might find on a baked potato – sour cream, chives, and bacon bits. Not quite the gloriously crispy rosti I was hoping for, but it was decent.

Beef rice bowl with foie gras, truffle, and onsen egg. This would be rather indulgent on its own, but paired with everything else on the table, it ended up being quite “heavy”.

Burger, onion rings, truffle fries… Pork rice bowl?

My bacon cheeseburger, and garlic fries that left me feeling quite cheated. As you can see, someone literally threw a few cloves of garlic on top of regular fries and called it a day. While most of the truffle fries tasted like truffle, the “garlic fries” had none of the garlic taste, save for maybe the six fries on top that were in direct contact with the cloves.

Well, at least the burger was pretty good.

Salted caramel ice-cream, because no meal is complete without dessert.

And… that’s all, folks! I’m hoping that the next few months will be relatively uneventful so that I’ll have the time to slowly catch up on the backlog. In the meantime, thanks for sticking with me. See you soon!

Picnic Singapore
Wisma Atria, #03-15
435 Orchard Road
Singapore 238877
Tel: +65 6734 8352

2 thoughts on “Picnic Singapore

  1. Pingback: d’Good Cafe @Takashimaya, Singapore – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

  2. Pingback: Fresh Fruits Lab – Dresses, Desserts, and Directions

Leave a Reply

